Ever since the release of Platform Builder for Windows CE 5.0, there has been an item in the Build OS menu labeled “Build and Sysgen” which causes problems for developers. I believe that this item is very useful for Microsoft’s Software Engineers, but it causes problems for the rest of us.
The problem is that Build and Sysgen, especially with the Clean Before Building set, will delete binary files that you don’t have the source to rebuild.
Once you have run Build and Sysgen and discover that it created a problem, the only way to recover is to reinstall Platform Builder and the QFEs.
There is a way to prevent accidentally using Build and Sysgen for Platform Builder 5.0:
·         From the Tools menu, select Customize
·         With the Customize dialog open, select the Build OS menu
·         Select Build and Sysgen, then drag it to the Customize dialog
And similar for Platform Builder 6.0:
·         From the Tools menu, select Customize
·         With the Customize dialog open, select the Build menu
·         Select the Advanced Build Commands sub-menu
·         Select Build and Sysgen, then drag it to the Customize dialog
·         Select Rebuild and Clean Sysgen, then drag it to the Customize dialog
 
I have heard of people using Build and Sysgen without problems. That is great for them, until they do run into a problem. There is no need for the average Platform Builder user to use Build and Sysgen, so don’t use it and risk needing to reinstall.
Copyright © 2008 – Bruce Eitman
All Rights Reserved